explore

on the road

travel and leisure

For the next couple of days I will be visiting Austin for a business trip. It will be my first time visiting Texas and I can’t wait to enjoy the warm weather, the southwestern food, and the attractions that are available. Even though my primary goal is to attend meetings, I always try to balance work and city sights when I am traveling. Because of that, I strategically plan outfits ahead of time and make sure to always carry the essentials.

The best way to plan outfits is by dividing your wardrobe into pieces that are for work and pieces that are for leisure. Because I do most of my city exploration by running, I always pack my running shoes as well as a couple of athletic outfits. In addition, I always make sure to pack a sightseeing dress that is lightweight but has a longer sleeve (to avoid carrying coats and cardigans) and a cross-body purse for easy carrying. For my flight outfit, I always choose to wear my heavier pieces so they are not factored into my suitcase weight.

travel musts

As for my travel must-have items, I made a list below of what to bring on any trip:

  • toothbrush
  • phone charger
  • lip balm
  • hair ties
  • toothpaste
  • facial moisturizer
  • camera
  • headphones
  • iPod (for running)
  • Clarisonic (or face wash)
  • sunscreen

In addition to smart packing and planning ahead, there are various ways to make your trip easier, more affordable, and more enjoyable. If you are traveling by plane, there are many traveler forums such as FlyerTalk  or The Cranky Flier that have some great insider information and travel tips.

Standard

Leave a Reply

