thrive

ready, set, go!

places

“You’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting,
So… get on your way!”

                 – Dr. Seuss

The world of running has long been a place where legends are made. From Steve Prefontaine to Usain Bolt, from the early Nike days, to “Run, Forrest, Run!” running has permeated the American culture with its ever-increasing fan base.

Running is one of the purest forms of exercise. You are using your own body to propel you and the road to challenge you. Whether you are an indoor or outdoor runner, you are depending on your core, legs, and energy to complete your goals.

For me, I have always found it more challenging but interesting to run outdoors. Although I have tried many different types of treadmills, my love for running began outdoors and took me places I’ve never thought I would see. From the red mesas of Arizona, to the streets of New York City, from the shores of Aruba, to the squares of Savannah, I have discovered and conquered unforgettable miles along my running journey.

Running has been the most challenging yet fulfilling activity I have ever undertaken, and I am amazed at how much physical and mental strength it takes. It started as a whim for me; it was a clear, spring day in Atlanta and I wanted to enjoy the day outside. I put on some trainers and I decided to pick up my feet faster and faster and see where they took me.

A mile later I was back at my starting point, without breath, but feeling very accomplished. And just like that, it went from there, day after day, week after week, until one day I realized that I could finish a mile without stopping or walking. Little by little, slowly but surely, I started building from that base to a couple of miles and then three, and four… and fourteen (the longest I’ve ever ran).

I made many mistakes along the way, some which even caused me injuries that at times made me reconsider my decision to run. However, with time and experience, I’ve learned to listen to my body and make sure that running becomes an enjoyment, not a painful chore.

If you have made the decision to start running, I’d like to congratulate you in advance for taking the first step. Running is a lifelong activity that has been proven to boost your immune system, help you keep a healthy body weight, prevent disease, guard off depression, relieve stress, etc.

So congrats again, and let’s get started.

Standard

Leave a Reply

