Uncategorized

hello 2014

happynewyear

I spent the year 2012 planning and setting up for the future. I had gotten a new job, purchased a townhouse, set up budgets, and focused on work, but very rarely had time to have any after-work activities to partake in. I was 23 years old but felt much older for my age. I wanted to travel, to break obstacles, and to experience new things, and that is exactly what I did for 2013.

2013 was a year to push my limits, it was a year to fulfill my own dreams. I was able to compete in my first half-marathon, my first triathlon, a mud race, a color race, a neon race, a second cross-country half marathon, return to dancing ballet, join a soccer league, swim with dolphins, kayak in an alligator filled lake, adopt a dog, and start a blog to record my experiences and thoughts. It was all a whirlwind and so very fun, but at the same time a bit hectic and expensive. Now, as 2013 is ending, I am reflecting back at the last couple of years and looking forward to 2014.

I am now 25 years old and I feel like I have a better sense in which direction my life is heading. I now understand three things that I wish I had before:

  1. Balance is important for all aspects of life
  2. Time is fleeting, life is too short for drama
  3. Good friends are hard to come by, cherish valuable friendships

These things have all rung true throughout the years, and have helped me improve my quality of life. I know that I only have a few years left in my twenties and I want to live them to the fullest. I am ready to live my dreams, to enjoy each and every single day, to be more adventurous, and to spend quality time with my loved ones. I want to inspire and be inspired, to learn, and to travel. I am ready for 2014 and all of the adventures it will bring. Happy New Year and may all your dreams come true!

Standard

Leave a Reply

