eat

Back to Reality

This weekend went by way too fast. As I am packing my suitcase to head back to Atlanta in the morning, I can’t believe how quickly time slipped by. I think that I am still in shock that my baby sister is now in college, that I am a legitimate working adult now, and that many of my friends are either engaged or married. That is why I love coming home for Thanksgiving. It feels like even though many things change with time, certain traditions endure the years. For my family, one of these traditions is putting up the tree during the Thanksgiving break. It is usually during these precious few days that we take turns hanging ornaments, setting up the lights, and my personal favorite, setting up the toy train around it.

One tradition that I wanted to start this year was making a dessert for Thanksgiving dinner. After lots of practice and many botched pastries, I was able to pull a Thanksgiving miracle and make cookies that 1) looked like cookies and 2) tasted delicious (everyone got seconds!). This recipe was originally from Martha Stewart but I changed a couple of things. I hope it brings you as many compliments as it did me.

What you will need:
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons pure vanilla paste
2 large eggs
2.5 cups milk chocolate chips and mini white chocolate chips
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, whisk together the flour and the baking soda. In a separate bowl, combine the butter with both sugars and beat on medium speed until fluffy.
2. Reduce speed to low, add salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat well until mixed. Then add the flour and mix until combined.
3. Stir in the chocolate chips. For this part, I used an ice cream spoon to scoop up balls of dough onto my greased cookie sheet. The result was bigger but uniform cookies. Make sure to place the dough balls a couple of inches apart.
4. Bake until cookies are golden around the edges but still soft in the center. Around 10 minutes if you are baking it in a small tabletop oven. Remove from oven and let them cool for a couple of minutes in the cookie pan. Transfer to a wire rack or serving tray and let it cool completely.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

