Uncategorized

You Can Have Anything You Want In Life If You Dress For It

At least according to Edith Head, who was featured in yesterday’s Google Doodle.

 

If you never heard about Head, she was an acclaimed costume designer from the 60’s who won eight Academy Awards and worked with Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Elizabeth Taylor, and Ingrid Bergman (to name a few). Her book, “How to Dress for Success”, has been in my reading list for ages and I finally caved in and purchased it. I think it would be a very fitting read, especially with Halloween around the corner. Halloween is one of my favorite holidays (right after Christmas) and I love having a day of the year where I get to dress up and be someone completely different. Unfortunately for me this year, by the time that Saturday came around (and all of the Halloween parties were taking place), I had still not received the costume I had purchased two months earlier, my mom was visiting me from Florida, and my house needed some serious organization after my SF trip. I had to cancel my party plans which was a bummer, but I refuse to give up on Halloween still. The way I see it, I still have two days to figure out two possible costume choices. The first one, will have to be a G-rated, playful set that I can wear both to my office party and to pass out candy for the trick-or-treaters in my neighborhood at night. The second one, will be PG-13 rated (my mom is still staying with me, she would have a heart-attack if she had seen me in last year’s costume) and I will play around with makeup to make it fun and sultry. Halloween is too fun to ignore and it only happens once a year. So for the next couple of days I am on a mission to find two costumes, find a party, and make this year’s Halloween a great time.
Standard

Leave a Reply

